Five Years of Bloggy Fun

Hard to believe it’s been 5 years since I started typing out my thoughts in blog form. I swear time is racing by as I get older. So much has changed in that time too, so this blog has morphed from a review on food and London experiences, to more about travel and life. One big change, I don’t live in London anymore, and it’s hard to believe it has been over 3 years now since we moved. My life also looks very different 5 years ago vs. now. New country, new company, parenthood, and all the changes that come with that; it has been pretty wild. Sometimes I wish things could slow down a little bit because I feel like so many things are zooming past. I think having kids does that though, or so people say.

This year will be another totally crazy year. I am sure I will be absolutely exhausted come time for my annual reflection next January, but I am looking forward to it. I feel like I am really in the ‘thick of it’ – life that is, so I just have to enjoy the ride. This year travel will be minimal and consist of just a few longer trips rather than a lot of small trips, which is a much better pace at this stage of life. Lots of little trips worked really well in my 20s when I had lots of energy and no children, but now a fewer longer length travel stints is better and less stressful. Plus you don’t feel like you have to cram everything in the few days you have and rush around, which is actually quite nice. I am really embracing the 2-3 week holidays people love to do here.

It has also been just over a year now since I started regularly gymming and really increasing my activity level and focusing on a healthy lifestyle. I have to say I really notice a difference both mentally and physically. I think when you’re younger it’s easier to neglect that side of things and get away with it, but now I really notice if I don’t eat well, sleep well, exercise, drink lots of water, etc. Wow, I am so middle aged! But again having kids, and especially doing it in your 30s, does make you think, “oh shoot, I better take care of myself so I can be there for them later.” That is definitely something I wish I had done at a younger age, but life does not always work out to the schedule you set for it, a lesson I have learned.

So since there will be fewer trips I will have to blog about food, experiences and Swiss life more. It will be a bit different to food and London life, but still in-keeping with the theme of the things I love and enjoy. Food is still very big (obvs!), travel, and general adventures, but of course, those all look different as a parent. I think we have managed to still incorporate all the things we love into our lives though so I am not complaining! Anyways, that’s all for now.

Published by

alexandrapedia

Basel-based and blogging for fun. Love travel, food and new experiences. Living in my 4th country, travelled to 55 so far, and hoping to see as much of the world as possible in this lifetime.

Leave a comment